Tags

, , , , , , ,

Damnit! I know that’s how it goes, I write a post all complaining about everything that is going wrong or that I’m struggling with and then everything turns.

This week my friend Iowa asked me on a date. Out of the blue she asks, “Do you want to go on a date with me?” And I’m thinking this must be a joke or something, but I of course want to go, so I say, “Uh, sure.?” To which she replies, “You don’t have to, I’m just asking.”

And I’m thinking, “You’re being serious? You’re being serious! Crap, what do I say?”

So as smoothly as I can I work to remedy the situation, “Um, no, I mean, yeah. I would like to go on a date with you. I mean, that’d be great, er, yes please! Thank you.”

“You are terrible on the phone. You said, no and yes. What is it?” she asked.

“Yes.”

“Good, because I like ya, and I want to take you out.”

That is the first time someone has asked me out. I’m thinking, what do I do? I ask people out, but I’m not asked out. So there we go, my flighty bird is asking me on a date and being so open with me.  That’s the wooing front.

Part 2: Working

This week I got a call from the local University that I already turned down a position with.  The Chair of the department called to say that a new full-time position had opened up and they’d like me to fill it.

My initial thought was, “fuck, no!” because I still would like to move to the Midwest, but I’m not that stupid and when the chair asked if I was interested I said, “Yes, of course.”

My family is super excited about me having a job in Utah.

Then today I got an email from a local community college that I applied with a year ago.  The email said they’d like to offer me a job to teach classes this fall. Can I just say, what the fuck people? What the fuck?

So within a week I have a job and a girl. I’m delighted, and surprised. Everyone has been telling me things will work out and they are. I knew they would, but it surprises me how they are working out.  I guess I just need to be grateful that they are and then get to work.

Thanks for all the support.